QCTO RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning)

It is about time for someone to clarify the true value, benefit, and meaning of RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning. In my thirty years of educating adults, I have never met someone who can explain it clearly and simply enough for all to understand its true worth and important function in the Adult World. To understand the true value of Life-Long Learning, and the value of Recognition of Prior Learning, it is important to have the knowledge and skill of valid RPL Assessment. This is important for all Life-long learners, assessors, moderators, and training centers who want to call themselves Subject Matter Experts. It is this MASSIVE INTERNATIONAL NEED TO UNDERSTAND the true impact and benefit of RPL created a huge gap which could not be clearly explained, leaving students, assessors, and training centres in the dark. UNTIL NOW! It is difficult for most of us to truly understand the QCTO RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning) requirements to register as an Assessor/ Moderator with the QCTO. The new changes, and shift from the SETA’s are difficult enough. But, to be an assessor/ moderator for the Recognition of Prior Learning, you need to provide additional proof as a Subject Matter Expert.

And this is exactly the reason why you must keep reading.

Hurry Up! 
Enroll NOW!

Reduced course price
only valid for another

Is there a QCTO RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning) recognition for assessors and Moderators?

Yes, It is true that there is no specific registered Unit Standard for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) Assessor or Moderator in South Africa under the National Qualifications Framework (NQF). Instead, RPL assessors and moderators must meet certain generic qualifications and competencies related to assessment and moderation, with an emphasis on RPL-specific experience and skills. And still, the generic qualifications provides insufficient training when it comes to truly understanding Recognition of Prior Learning and how to properly assess it.

This unique Online Course allow you to study on your own time, and do everything online.

The current Unit Standards for Assessor (US ID 115753), and Moderator (115759)
cover general principles and practices of assessment and moderation, which are applicable across various contexts, and some high quality courses do include RPL.
However, most of the courses for these two Unit Standards lack proper training regarding the requirements of proper Recognition of Prior Learning Assessment and RPL Portfolio Moderation.

  • RPL Specific Competencies: While there are no unit standards specifically for RPL, the competencies required for RPL assessment are expected to be integrated into the roles of assessors and moderators through specialized training and practical experience.
Recognition of Prior Learning

Requirements for RPL Assessors and Moderators

  1. RPL-Specific Training:
    • Specialized RPL Training: Additional training or professional development specific to RPL methodologies and practices.
    • Experience in RPL: Demonstrated experience in conducting RPL assessments or moderations, typically through practical application or specific roles in RPL projects.
    1. Competency Evidence:
    • Portfolio of Evidence: Documentation of practical RPL assessments or moderations conducted, showcasing the ability to apply RPL principles.
    • Continuous Professional Development: Participation in ongoing learning related to RPL, such as workshops, seminars, or additional courses.

    QCTO Guidelines and Best Practices

    • QCTO Requirements: According to the QCTO, assessors and moderators must register based on their qualifications and experience. This includes their ability to conduct RPL assessments or moderations.
    Hurry Up! 
    Enroll NOW!

    Reduced course price
    only valid for another

    Summary of Requirements and Practices

    No Specific RPL Unit Standard:
    There is No registered Unit Standard specifically for RPL assessors or moderators, and the generic assessor and moderator unit standards that form the basic minimum requirements, are not enough to fully equip the RPL Assessor/ Moderator for the task of quality assessment complying to VARCS.

    1. Supplementary RPL Competencies:
      That is why RPL-specific training and experience is required.
      This will include Portfolio of Evidence to demonstrate RPL competencies.
    2. Practical Application:
    • In practice, RPL assessors and moderators often need to demonstrate their capabilities through documented experience and RPL-specific training. In this case, as an already qualified Assessor and/ or Moderator, only additional training is required to upskill the current qualification to that of an RPL Assessor. Moderator.

    As an individual, you most likely have already completed the basic required skills:

    a. “Conduct Outcomes-Based Assessment” (Unit Standard ID 115753)
    Planning and preparing for assessment, conducting assessments, providing feedback.

    b. “Conduct Moderation of Outcomes-Based Assessments” (Unit Standard ID 115759)
    Planning and preparing for moderation, conducting moderation, advising on assessment systems.

      But to be skilled in the Assessment and Moderation or Recognition of Prior Learning, additional up-to-date, high quality, internationally recognized knowledge training is required.

      Hurry Up! 
      Enroll NOW!

      Reduced course price
      only valid for another

      RPL-Specific Training

      1. Specialized RPL Training Course:
      • Topics: Principles of RPL, methodologies for assessing prior learning, tools and techniques specific to RPL.
      • Certificate: Issued upon completion of RPL-specific training.
      1. Practical Experience:
      • Role: Conducting actual RPL assessments or moderations.
      • Portfolio: Gain access to internationally recognized templates and checklists to properly document evidence of assessments conducted, feedback provided, and outcomes moderated.
      • Gain access to and an understanding of the Internationally recognized Systematic Framework or Classification Systems for classifying and organizing knowledge or skills into categories and levels. It often provides a structured way to think about and assess educational objectives or cognitive processes.
        These include SOLO, Bloom’s, and DOK Taxonomy.
        These Classification Systems are used in education to develop curricula, create assessments, and enhance teaching strategies by targeting different levels of cognitive complexity.

      QCTO RPL Subject Matter Expert

      In South Africa, while there are no specific unit standards for RPL assessors or moderators, the qualifications for general assessors and moderators, supplemented by RPL-specific training and practical experience, provide a pathway to becoming an effective RPL assessor or moderator. Ensure that you document all your training and practical experience thoroughly to meet QCTO registration requirements.

      This course is fully accredited through the International Association of Therapists and has an international Credit Value of: 2 CREDITS.

      Enroll in this unique, one-of-a-kind internationally accredited course today. Be prepared for the new shift in the world of Adult Education in South Africa.

      Do not get left behind!

      Qualify as an RPL Subject Matter Expert today.

      Get ahead of every other Assessor, Moderator, and Facilitator, and boost your skills and knowledge with this course.
      Increase your career opportunities today, and get started on the course NOW!

      Doing so will not only set you ahead of the rest, but will also boost your own Learning Pathway with Recognition of Prior Learning.


      Hurry Up! 
      Enroll NOW!

      Reduced course price
      only valid for another

      Get more info regarding the SAQA RPL requirements here

      Posted in Uncategorised